NCPA Foundation Announces 2013 Student Chapter of the Year, Outstanding Student Chapter Members of the Year

Share |

Orlando, Fla., Oct. 13, 2013 - The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Foundation today announced the top student chapters and outstanding student chapter members at the NCPA 115th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition. Sponsored by the McKesson Foundation, the 2013 NCPA Student Chapter of the Year is the University of Texas at Austin; the first runner-up is the University of Houstona>; and the second runner-up is the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

In addition, the 2013 NCPA Most Improved Chapter winner is Palm Beach Atlantic University School of Pharmacy, while the University of Texas at Austin also won the Health and Wellness Challenge and Ohio Northern University won the NCPA Legislative Advocacy Challenge. The NCPA Legislative Advocacy Challenge and the Health and Wellness Challenge are projects created by the NCPA Student Leadership Council to engage NCPA student chapters in legislative and patient outreach activities in their community.

The Legislative Advocacy Challenge gauges the level of legislative advocacy taking place within each NCPA student chapter. Chapters must have participated in a major event such as a State Legislative Day, day-to-day contact with legislators or educational initiatives that promote advocacy. The Health and Wellness Challenge encourages student chapters to promote the benefits of pharmacist-provided health and wellness services in their community. The project can be achieved through patient education, community outreach programs or through other unique patient outreach services, and is graded on creativity and community impact./p>

"NCPA student chapters help future pharmacists become future pharmacy owners through entrepreneurial-based programs during their collegiate experience," said Sharlea Leatherwood, PD, NCPA Foundation President. "We congratulate these most outstanding chapters in their respective categories. Amazingly, many of our 2013 honorees were recipients of the same awards in 2012, which is clearly an indication of the ongoing commitment to excellence of these schools. We applaud all the NCPA student chapters for their dedication to community pharmacy."

The award criteria included commitment to community service, recruiting new members, promoting independent community pharmacy and advocating legislative action.

The chapters are the most integral part of the NCPA Student Outreach Program that was launched 22 years ago by NCPA Foundation Trustee Emeritus Joe Mosso, who was president of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD, which was renamed NCPA in 1996). The Foundation underwrites the program, which is designed to increase student awareness of pharmacy ownership and the entrepreneurial opportunities in pharmacy. There are now approximately 3,800 student members and 104 chapters in 129 U.S. pharmacy schools.

A few of the most effective and popular programs that the chapters encourage members to participate in are the Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition, the Legislative Advocacy Challenge, the Health and Wellness Challenge, NCPA Ownership Workshops and the NCPA Effective Pharmacy Management Course. Chapters also help to set up mentorships and rotations with independent community pharmacies.

In addition, 32 pharmacy students were honored as NCPA Outstanding Student Chapter Members of the Year after being nominated by their peers and faculty at each of their respective schools. All of the chapter awards are sponsored by the McKesson Foundation.

"Within each NCPA student chapter resides a member who stands out among their peers through their vision, efforts and commitment to becoming a future independent community pharmacy leader," said NCPA President Donnie Calhoun, RPh, a pharmacy owner in Anniston, Ala. "That is why we are awarding the NCPA Outstanding Student Chapter Member of the Year to these deserving winners, nominated by their peers and faculty who witnessed the breadth of their dedication on a daily basis. We commend all 32 winners and hope to be calling them fellow independent community pharmacy owners in the future."

NCPA Student Chapter Outstanding Member of the Year Awards (listed alphabetically by last name):

  • Bryan Bordelon, University of Louisiana-Monroe

  • Sabrina Caico, University of Saint Joseph

  • Jihane Chaieb, University of Maryland

  • Teresa Chang, University of Maryland

  • Cody Clark, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

  • Winston Corzine, University of Cincinnati

  • Bethany Cuiksa, Ohio Northern University

  • Heidi Cung, University of New Mexico

  • Ravi Davuluri, University of Texas-Austin

  • Anna Claire Freeman, University of Mississippi

  • Ericson Ganotisi, University of Hawaii-Hilo

  • Aaron Garst, East Tennessee State University

  • Doug Hynek, University of Kansas

  • Tatsiana Kazlova, Shenandoah University

  • Melissa Landin, Texas A&M University

  • Samantha Mattison, University at Buffalo

  • Chau Nguyen, Regis University

  • Kara Piechowski, West Virginia University

  • DeAngelo Price, University of Maryland Eastern Shore

  • Bobby N. Pruitt, III, Campbell University

  • Jessica Rawlings, University of Illinois-Chicago

  • Kristie Rees, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville

  • Lucas Smith, University of Colorado-Skaggs

  • Brian Snow, Ohio State University

  • Cindi Sounthonevat, University of Connecticut

  • Alyssa Stucke, Virginia Commonwealth University

  • Atara Taylor, Hampton University

  • Heather Taylor, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

  • Esther Thomas, University of Houston

  • Blake Toney, Ohio State University

  • Amy Tran, Albany College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

  • Holly Wilkerson, Harding University


The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor former NARD Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the NCPA Foundation are tax-deductible to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy through low-interest educational loans and scholarships to pharmacy students in need, critical research and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy, community service programs and financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or adverse circumstances. To learn more go to

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA®) represents the interests of America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 independent community pharmacies. Together they represent an $88.7 billion health care marketplace, dispense nearly 40% of all retail prescriptions, and employ more than 300,000 individuals, including over 62,000 pharmacists. To learn more go to or read NCPA's blog, The Dose, at

Ask Your Family Pharmacist TM