NCPA Announces 2011 Student Chapter of the Year, Outstanding Student Chapter Members of the Year

Share |

Nashville, TN (October 10, 2011) — The National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation (NCPAF) announced the top student chapters and outstanding student chapter members at its 113th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition. The 2011 NCPA Student Chapter of the Year is Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy. The first runner-up is Washington State University. The second runner-up is the University of Texas at Austin. The 2011 NCPA Most Improved Chapter winner is the University of Missouri - Kansas City. In addition, the University of Washington School of Pharmacy won the NCPA Medication Therapy Management Challenge, and Texas A&M University Health Science Center College of Pharmacy won the NCPA Legislative Advocacy Challenge.

Also, 34 pharmacy students were honored as NCPA Outstanding Student Chapter Members of the Year after being nominated by their peers and faculty at each of their respective schools. All of the chapter awards are sponsored by the NCPA Foundation.

"NCPA student chapters provide pharmacy students the tools to become independent community pharmacy owners, who can practice a more patient-friendly business approach than in many other pharmacy settings," said Sharlea Leatherwood, PD, NCPA Foundation President. "We give special recognition to this year's deserving winners: Ohio Northern University, Washington State University, University of Texas at Austin and the University of Missouri–Kansas City. We want to thank all the NCPA Student Chapters for their commitment."

The award criteria included commitment to community service, recruiting new members, promoting independent community pharmacy, and advocating legislative action. The selection process was difficult with so many chapters distinguishing themselves.

The chapters are the most integral part of the NCPA Student Outreach Program that was launched 22 years ago by NCPA Foundation Trustee Emeritus Joe Mosso, who was president of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD, which became known as NCPA in 1996). The Foundation underwrites the program, which is designed to increase student awareness of pharmacy ownership and the entrepreneurial opportunities in pharmacy. There are now approximately 3,500 student members and 96 chapters in 124 U.S. pharmacy schools.

A few of the most effective and popular programs that the chapters encourage members to participate in are the Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition, Legislative Advocacy Challenge, the new Health and Wellness Challenge, NCPA Ownership Workshops and the NCPA Effective Pharmacy Management Course. Setting up mentorships and rotations with independent community pharmacies is also commonplace.

"Within each NCPA Student Chapter is a member who stands out among their peers by the sheer magnitude of their dedication," said Robert J. Greenwood, RPh, NCPA President and pharmacy owner in Waterloo, Iowa. "That is why we are awarding the NCPA Outstanding Student Chapter Member of the Year to deserving winners who were nominated by their peers, who saw first-hand their dedication on a daily basis."

NCPA Student Chapter Outstanding Member of the Year Awards (alphabetically listed by last name):

Christina Berberich University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy
Bethany Bonner Howard University School of Pharmacy
Kurt Bowen Washington State University
Jessica Cheng Rutgers University Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy
Chelsea Clark Ferris State University College of Pharmacy
Bobby Clay University of Houston College of Pharmacy
William Coleman Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy
Christopher Daly University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy
KariLynn Dowling University of Montana Skaggs School of Pharmacy
Sheridan Giaimo University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Pharmacy
Nancy Hanna California Northstate College of Pharmacy
Michaela Hasan University of Colorado
Tiera Hickman Wilkes University
Austin Horner University of Kansas School of Pharmacy
Marinda Hutchinson University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy
Joya Jennings University of Utah College of Pharmacy
Katie Kacmarik West Virginia University School of Pharmacy
Marcial Martinez University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy
Sheila McMahon Auburn University
Leigh Ann McStoots Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Pang Moua Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Adebayo Ogunniyi University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy
Timothy Michael


Massachusetts College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences



The University of Texas at Austin



Ohio Northern University, Raabe College of Pharmacy



Drake University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences



Texas A&M HSC Rangel College of Pharmacy


Czarlite Ricasa

University of Maryland



Southern University of Illinois Edwardsville



Harding University College of Pharmacy



University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy



The Ohio State University



University of Southern Nevada - South Jordan



Shenandoah University Bernard J. Dunn School of Pharmacy

The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor the previous incarnation of NCPA, the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD) Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the NCPA Foundation are tax-deductible as charitable donations to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The NCPA Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy through low-interest educational loans and scholarships to pharmacy students, critical research and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy, community service programs, and financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or adverse circumstances. For more information, go to

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA®) represents the interests of America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 independent community pharmacies. Together they represent a $93 billion health care marketplace, dispense over 37% of all retail prescriptions, and employ more than 315,000 people, including 62,400 pharmacists. Independent community pharmacists are readily accessible medication experts who can help lower health care spending. They are committed to maximizing the appropriate use of lower-cost generic drugs and reducing the estimated $290 billion that is wasted annually by improper medication use. To learn more go to or read NCPA's blog, The Dose, at

Ask Your Family Pharmacist TM