Dose Contributors

B. Douglas Hoey, RPh, MBA is the Chief Executive Officer of the National Community Pharmacists Association. He has spent more than 20 years working in and representing community pharmacies. NCPA represents the nation’s more than 22,000 community pharmacies and their pharmacists.

In 2005, Hoey was named COO and helped lead the NCPA team that scored legislative victories requiring prompt pay of Part D claims, winning a court injunction to delay AMP that saved community pharmacies over $2 billion.

He is a licensed pharmacist in Oklahoma, Virginia, and Texas and practiced for five years in community and long-term care pharmacy settings, contributing to the development of expansions into durable medical equipment and home infusion. For five years, Hoey also developed and taught pharmacology courses at George Washington University and Marymount University.

He is also a member of the board of directors for SureScripts, Mirixa, Pharmacy e-Health Information Technology, the Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board, and Community Pharmacy Financial.

He is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy and the Oklahoma City University Meinders School of Business.

John Norton is the Director of Public Relations for the National Community Pharmacists Association. He spearheads the association's media outreach efforts.

Prior to joining NCPA, Norton worked in various public relations roles with the Democratic National Committee, Children's Defense Fund, and Carmen Group, Inc. He also previously worked in television production and programming with the National Basketball Association and ABS sports. Norton is a graduate of Occidental College.

Kevin Schweers is Senior Vice President, Government & Public Affairs for the National Community Pharmacists Association. He also oversees the organization's Advocacy Center, which directs all NCPA state and federal legislative, regulatory, and political activities as well as the content, design, and publication of all NCPA internal and external communications.

Prior to joining NCPA, Schweers was Deputy Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. In that capacity, he developed and implemented communications strategies for programs and initiatives involving food and drug safety, health information technology, and Medicare and Medicaid, among other areas.

Previously, in the U.S. Congress, he served as Communications Director for the House Energy & Commerce Committee as well as Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison and then-Rep. J.C. Watts, Jr.

In the private sector, Schweers has worked for the Electronic Industries Alliance and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. He is a graduate of the University of Georgia.

Michael Rule is the Associate Director of Public Affairs and Grassroots Advocacy at the National Community Pharmacists Association. In this capacity, Rule coordinates all grassroots efforts for national and state-specific priorities for community pharmacy and promotes the association's agenda through a variety of channels.

Prior to joining NCPA in 2011, Rule worked for the DCI Group, a public affairs firm based in Washington, D.C., managing in-state grassroots efforts for various clients, including in-state consultants and phone and direct mail programs. He has also worked on political campaigns managing grassroots initiatives. He is a graduate of Alvernia College and holds a degree in political science.

Stephanie DuBois is the Senior Director of Marketing Communications for the National Community Pharmacists Association. In this role, she oversees the association's digital and social media strategy and develops marketing campaigns for NCPA events, initiatives, and services.

Prior to joining NCPA, DuBois worked on Capitol Hill for 10 years. She served as the spokeswoman and communications director for former Rep. Charlie Bass (R-N.H.), and before that, for Rep. Connie Mack (R-Fla.) and former Rep. Jeb Bradley (R-N.H.). She holds a master's degree in public relations and corporate communications from Georgetown University and a bachelor's degree in political science from Providence College.