News Releases - 2015

Two Community Pharmacists Honored with 2015 John W. Dargavel Medal for Leadership, Service

by NCPA | Oct 12, 2015

National Harbor, Md. (October 12, 2015) - Two community pharmacists who have shaped the community pharmacy industry through their leadership and advocacy efforts were awarded the 2015 John W. Dargavel Medal today by the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Foundation during NCPA's 2015 Annual Convention in National Harbor, Md. John Carson of San Antonio, Texas and the late James H. Vincent of Yuma, Colo. were recognized for their trailblazing work in promoting technology advancements in community pharmacies and advocating for better laws to safeguard pharmacists from crime, respectively. Vincent's son Matt Vincent received the award on his father's behalf during a ceremony this morning.

The McKesson Corporation sponsors the annual award that honors an individual whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by John W. Dargavel, who was executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD), now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961.

"NCPA and the community pharmacy industry would not be where it is today without the leadership and dedication of John Carson and James Vincent," said Sharlea Leatherwood, PD, President of the NCPA Foundation. "Their forward-thinking approaches to finding solutions to make it easier—and safer—for community pharmacists to own and operate a business and serve patients carries through to this day. We all admire their contributions to the profession and can only hope to achieve half of what John and James have accomplished in their lifetimes as community pharmacy owners and leaders in their communities."

"McKesson has a long standing relationship with NCPA and we are pleased to be a sponsor of this year's NCPA Annual Convention, along with hosting the NCPA Foundation's Dargavel Award," said Rex Catton, senior vice president, McKesson U.S. Pharmaceutical. "We are proud to honor John Carson and James Vincent with this prestigious award for their dedication to community pharmacy."

John Carson served as NCPA President from 2000 to 2001. An early believer in the power of technology to transform pharmacy, one of his first acts as president was to establish a Special Committee on Innovation and Technology. He was a strong supporter of having NCPA train pharmacists in providing pharmacist care services and was chairman of the National Institute for Pharmacist Care Outcomes, which trained more than 12,000 pharmacists by the end of his presidency. He also served as a charter board member of the National Home Infusion Association.

Carson is a graduate of the University of Texas College of Pharmacy, where he has served as a member of the practitioner faculty and on the Dean's Advisory Council. He opened his first community pharmacy in 1969. He is a former board member and past president of the Texas Pharmacy Association.

James H. Vincent passed away on April 11, 2008, and left behind a legacy of community service to his hometown and profession. Vincent served on multiple committees of NARD/NCPA, including as chairman of the Executive Committee and President of NARD from 1983-1984. Among his many achievements, Vincent was instrumental in advocating to better safeguard the nation's pharmacists from crime. In 1984, the U.S. Congress finally passed a law making it a federal offense (with tougher penalties and sentencing) for anyone who robs and/or burglarizes a pharmacy. Because of his efforts, Vincent received the Distinguished Service Award from the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy. Today, the school features the "James H. Vincent Lecture Hall" on its new campus in Denver.

Vincent was a graduate of the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy and started working as a pharmacist at Kitzmiller's Drug Store in Yuma after graduation. In 1959, Vincent opened Shop-All Inc., a one-stop grocery store, dry goods store, and pharmacy, and eventually opened two more Shop-All stores in nearby communities. Vincent was also past president of the Colorado Pharmacal Association (now the Colorado Pharmacists Society) and the Northeast Colorado Pharmacal Association.


About the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation
The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor the previous incarnation of NCPA, the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD) Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the foundation are tax-deductible as charitable donations to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The NCPA Foundation supports the growth of independent community pharmacy through scholarships to pharmacy students, critical research/programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy and patient care, community service programs, and financial aid to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster or other adverse circumstances. For more information, go to

About the National Community Pharmacists Association
The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA®) represents the interests of America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 22,000 independent community pharmacies. Together they represent an $81.4 billion health care marketplace and employ more than 314,000 individuals on a full or part-time basis. To learn more, go to, visit, or follow NCPA on Twitter @Commpharmacy.

About McKesson
McKesson Corporation, currently ranked 11th on the FORTUNE 500, is a healthcare services and information technology company dedicated to making the business of healthcare run better. We partner with payers, hospitals, physician offices, pharmacies, pharmaceutical companies and others across the spectrum of care to build healthier organizations that deliver better care to patients in every setting. McKesson helps its customers improve their financial, operational and clinical performance with solutions that include pharmaceutical and medical-surgical supply management, healthcare information technology, and business and clinical services. For more information, visit