Washington State University Team Wins 2010 Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition

Philadelphia, Pa. - Oct. 25, 2010

A team of pharmacy students from Washington State University College of Pharmacy was named the winner of the 2010 Good Neighbor Pharmacy National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition. A team from Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences came in second, and a team representing Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy finished third.

"As a community pharmacy owner it's gratifying to see the level of clearly demonstrated student interest in becoming owners by the outstanding entries in this year's Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition," said Joseph H. Harmison, PD, NCPA President and pharmacy owner in Arlington, TX. "These students now have a roadmap that will take all of the guesswork out of pharmacy ownership. In any competition there are always the winners whose efforts rose above everyone else, so I would like to especially congratulate the winner, Washington State University; the runner-up, Drake University; and, the third place finisher Auburn University for their truly outstanding plans."

The 2010 competition drew entries from 35 schools and colleges of pharmacy—a record number of submissions in the competition's seven years of existence. The first national competition of its kind in the pharmacy profession, the contest is named to honor two great champions of independent community pharmacy, the late Neil Pruitt Sr. and the late H. Joseph Schutte. The goal of the competition is to motivate pharmacy students to create a business model for buying an existing independent community pharmacy or developing a new pharmacy. Through this competition, NCPA is better able to prepare tomorrow's pharmacy entrepreneurs for a successful future. The competition is supported by Good Neighbor Pharmacy, Pharmacists Mutual Companies, and the NCPA Foundation.

The three finalist teams and advisors made live presentations of their business plans before the competition judges and an audience during the annual convention after receiving complimentary registration, travel, and lodging. Harmison announced the results of the competition during the Opening General Session of the NCPA 112th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition held October 23-27 in Philadelphia, PA. The teams were honored at the NCPA Foundation's Award Ceremony.

"The NCPA Foundation mission is dedicated to preserving the legacy of independent community pharmacies, which is only enhanced by helping create successful future owners," said Sharlea Leatherwood, PD, NCPA Foundation President. "That's why it supports the Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition, which allows students to create business plans that are judged by a distinguished panel of professionals who know what works. We fully expect many of this year's participants to join the roster of past participants who become future owners."

Team members from Washington State University were Erik Nelson, Kurt Bowen, Robert Bryan, and Vinh Nguyen. Linda Garrelts MacLean, RPh, CDE, was the team's advisor. Their chapter received $3,000 and $3,000 was contributed to the school in the dean's name to promote independent pharmacy. The team members, team advisor, and the dean will also receive complimentary registration, travel, and lodging to NCPA's 2011 Multiple Locations Conference.

Team members from Drake University were Tori Erxleben, Travis Gau, Kathryn McDonald, and Ryan Nimtz. Renae Chesnut, MBA, EdD, was the team's advisor. Their chapter received $2,000 and $2,000 was contributed to the school in the dean's name to promote independent pharmacy.

Team members from Auburn University were Garrett Aikens, Brittney Shippee, Lauren Sofy, Denise Sutter. Jared Johnson, PharmD, was the team's advisor. Their chapter received $1,000 and $1,000 was contributed to the school in the dean's name to promote independent pharmacy.

Other top 10 finishers included teams from the University of Arkansas, University at Buffalo, University of Colorado, University of the Incarnate Word, University of North Carolina, University of Oklahoma, University of Wyoming.

Judges for the written portion of this year's competition were: Brad Arthur, RPh, Black Rock Pharmacy; Michele Belcher, RPh, Grants Pass Pharmacy; Jeff Carson, RPh, Oakdell Pharmacy; Brian Caswell, RPh, Wolkar Drug; Dennis Conlin, RPh, Conlin's Pharmacy; Diana Courtney, RPh, Lake Shore Pharmacy; Timothy Davis, RPh, Beaver HealthMart Pharmacy; Cheri Garvin, RPh, Leesburg Pharmacy; Jeff Harrell, PharmD, Peninsula Pharmacies; Kenny Harrison, PharmD, Cornerstone Pharmacy; Holly Henry, RPh, NCPA past president, Rxtra Care Pharmacy; Joe Lech, RPh, Lech's Pharmacy; Dixie Leikach, RPh, Finksburg Pharmacy; Matt Mallinson, RPh, Matt's Medicine Store; Dorinda Martin, RPh, Dripping Springs Pharmacy; Bill Moore, PharmD, Henry Robert Express Pharmacy; Joe Moose, PharmD, Moose Professional Pharmacy; Bill Osborn, PharmD, Osborn Drugs, Inc.; Kristen Riddle, PharmD, US Compounding Pharmacy; Beverly Schaefer, RPh, Katterman's Sand Point Pharmacy; Dan Severson, RPh, Valley Drug and Variety; John Sutter, RPh, Marshland Pharmacy; Sue Sutter, RPh, Marshland Pharmacy; and Stacey Swartz, PharmD, Neighborhood Pharmacy of Del Ray.

The judges for this year's live competition were: Stephen Giroux, RPh, Middleport Family Health Center, NCPA Past-President; Don R. McGuire Jr., RPh, J.D. Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Companies; Gerald Shapiro, PD, Uptown Drug Company, NCPA Foundation Board of Trustee; and Ed Webman, RPh, Live Oak Bank.

The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor former NARD Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the NCPA Foundation are tax-deductible to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy through low-interest educational loans and scholarships to pharmacy students in need, critical research and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy, and financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or adverse circumstances. To learn more go to www.ncpafoundation.org.

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA®) represents the interests of America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 independent community pharmacies, pharmacy franchises, and chains. Together they represent a $93 billion health-care marketplace, have more than 315,000 employees including 62,400 pharmacists, and dispense over 41% of all retail prescriptions. To learn more go to www.ncpanet.org or read NCPA's blog, The Dose, at http://ncpanet.wordpress.com.

Ask Your Family Pharmacist TM