Our Experts

B. Douglas Hoey, R.Ph, MBA

Hoey is the Chief Executive Officer of the National Community Pharmacists Association. He has spent 20+ years working in and representing community pharmacies.

NCPA represents the 23,000 community pharmacies and their pharmacists.

In 2005, Hoey was named COO and helped lead the NCPA team that scored legislative victories requiring prompt pay of Part D claims, winning a court injunction to delay AMP that saved community pharmacies over $2 billion dollars, and NCPA membership has increased by 20 percent over the past two years. He is a licensed pharmacist in Oklahoma, Virginia, and Texas and practiced for 5 years in community and Long Term Care settings contributing to the development of expansions into durable medical equipment and home infusion. For five years, Hoey also developed and taught pharmacology courses at George Washington University and Marymount universities.

He is also a member of the Board of Directors for SureScripts, Mirixa, Pharmacy e-Health Information Technology, the Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board, and the Community Pharmacy Financial.

He is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy and the Oklahoma City University business graduate school.

Mark Riley, P.D. NCPA President

NCPA President Mark Riley, is the executive vice president of the Arkansas Pharmacists Association and an authority on pharmacy benefit managers. Riley owns East End Pharmacy in Little Rock, where he was pharmacist-in-charge for 20 years. He earned his bachelor of science in pharmacy and his doctor of pharmacy from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy. A one-time pharmacy benefit manager (PBM) executive, Riley has been asked by over 160 businesses to advise them on pharmacy benefit management

Donnie Calhoun, P.D. Immediate Past NCPA President

Donnie Calhoun, 1987 graduate of Samford University School of Pharmacy, owns a compounding pharmacy in Calhoun County. He serves on the executive committee for the National Community Pharmacists Association and as a national director for Pharmacist's Mutual Insurance Company. He is the 2012 President of the Alabama Board of Pharmacy. He also has served on the National Home Infusion Association board of directors and Member Health's P&T committee. He has served as President of the Alabama Independent Drugstore Association and as a board member of the Alabama Pharmacy Association. He has been involved with teaching pharmacy students as an adjunct professor of Samford and Auburn Schools of Pharmacy. Donnie has served on many pharmacy committees at a local, state and national level. He as been a recipient of many awards including distinguished young pharmacist (1991) and the Alabama Pharmacy Association Pharmacist of the year award (2005). He is married to Cindy and has 3 children, Casey, Caitlyn, and Dillon

Lonny Wilson DPh

Past NCPA President Wilson is one of the original founders of Pharmacist Providers of Oklahoma (PPOk), a buying group, switching service, and administrator of managed care drug plans. He has been its CEO since 1989 and owns three pharmacies in the Oklahoma City area. He also is chairman of the board of directors of the medication therapy management company Mirixa, established by NCPA.

One of Wilson's main concerns both at PPOk and NCPA has been the general price erosion in the community pharmacy marketplace and the especially deleterious effect of differing generic drug maximum allowable cost rates on third party contracting.

Ask Your Family Pharmacist TM