News Releases - 2017

Ernest Boyd Honored With 2017 John W. Dargavel Medal for Leadership, Service

by NCPA | Oct 16, 2017

ORLANDO, Fla. (Oct. 16, 2017) Ernest Boyd, RPh, MBA, Executive Director of the Ohio Pharmacists Association, whose leadership and advocacy efforts have helped shape the community pharmacy industry, received the 2017 John W. Dargavel Medal from the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation during the NCPA 2017 Annual Convention held Oct. 14-18.

The McKesson Corporation sponsors the annual award that honors a person whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by Dargavel, who was executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD), now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961.

"For nearly 30 years Ernie Boyd has been on the front lines fighting for pharmacies as the executive director of the Ohio Pharmacists Association, which is why he is a very deserving recipient of the prestigious John W. Dargavel Award," said Charles West, PD, President of the NCPA Foundation. "Ernie is a larger-than-life figure, who, whether at the state or federal level, has worked tirelessly to ensure pharmacies are treated fairly and that patient access to their prescription drug services is never compromised."

After graduating from Butler University College of Pharmacy in 1975, Boyd worked in community and hospital pharmacy settings for the next four years. He began his career as a pharmacy association executive in 1979, when he served as assistant executive director for the Indiana Pharmacists Association. He then left in 1988 for the position he has held since — Executive Director of the Ohio Pharmacists Association.

Over the years, Boyd has held many professional pharmacy affiliations and government appointments, including being a longtime member of NCPA who regularly attends legislative and annual conventions to advocate and network on behalf of Ohio's pharmacies and patients. He is a regular writer for the Ohio Pharmacists Association's magazine, and is a frequent guest lecturer at pharmacy schools through the Buckeye State, including Ohio Northern University, the University of Cincinnati, the University of Toledo, Ohio State University, and the University of Findlay.

Boyd has received numerous awards. In 2009, the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy recognized him for his service. He received the Beal Award for contributions to the profession of pharmacy in 2008, and in 2001 he received the Thomas R. King Distinguished Service Award for service to the Ohio Society of Association Executives. He also received the Ralph V. Foster Friend of ASP Award from Ohio State University in 1996, and the Keys Award for service to the Ohio Pharmacists Association in 1991.

"McKesson values its relationship with NCPA and independent community pharmacies, which is why we are pleased to sponsor the NCPA Foundation's Dargavel Award and congratulate Ernie Boyd," said Rex Catton, senior vice president, McKesson U.S. Pharmaceutical. "Over the years independent community pharmacies have seen the pharmacy marketplace grow more competitive and American's health care delivery system transform, which is why leaders like Ernie have been vital to protecting the interests of these small business health care providers and their patients."

***Pictures can be furnished upon request.


About the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation
The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor former NARD Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the NCPA Foundation are tax deductible to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy through low-interest educational loans and scholarships to pharmacy students in need, critical research and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy, community service programs and financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or adverse circumstances. To learn more, go to

About the National Community Pharmacists Association
The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA®) represents the interests of America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 22,000 independent community pharmacies. Together they represent an $80 billion health care marketplace and employ more than 250,000 individuals on a full- or part-time basis. To learn more, go to, visit, or follow NCPA on Twitter @Commpharmacy.

About McKesson Corporation
McKesson Corporation, currently ranked 5th on the FORTUNE 500, is a global leader in healthcare supply chain management solutions, retail pharmacy, community oncology and specialty care, and healthcare information technology. McKesson partners with pharmaceutical manufacturers, providers, pharmacies, governments and other organizations in healthcare to help provide the right medicines, medical products and healthcare services to the right patients at the right time, safely and cost-effectively. United by our ICARE shared principles, our employees work every day to innovate and deliver opportunities that make our customers and partners more successful — all for the better health of patients. McKesson has been named the "Most Admired Company" in the healthcare wholesaler category by FORTUNE, a "Best Place to Work" by the Human Rights Campaign Foundation, and a top military-friendly company by Military Friendly. For more information, visit